Today, WhatsApp is rolling out its “View Once” feature, which deletes photos and videos from your chat after they are opened by the recipient. By tapping the “1” button to the left of the send button, you can make a photo or video view once. It will be deleted once the recipient opens it.
It will be obvious that the recipient is receiving a disappearing photo, so you should use it only with people you trust not to take screenshots.
Facebook CEO Mark Zuckerberg confirmed that the feature would be coming in June, but did not provide details about when it would be available. According to WaBetaInfo, this feature has been in beta testing since late October.
A display of sensitive information, such as a Wi-Fi password, is used as an example of how the feature could be used. This type of feature could, of course, be used for less wholesome purposes.
It’s still useful to be able to choose between disappearing messages, which only disappear after a week, and the permanent records of your chat.